RSS

Willingness AND Looking

09 Feb

Are you willing to do whatever God has prepared for you to do on any given day?  Better yet are you looking for what He has planned for your life moment by moment to glorify Him?

 Yesterday, I accompanied by wife to the hospital she has been faithfully serving the past several years (to get view of the day click on her blog, The Heart of the Matter, on the right).  She ministers to the children who have been diagnosed or waiting to receive the diagnosis of HIV infection usually through no fault of their own.  Their mothers, whose hearts have been deadened by drugs, abandoned them at birth.  She visits them, holding, hugging, tickling, mothering them.

I must admit my “to do” list contained more items than I could accomplish in a day.  In fact, I have things on my list towards the bottom that are important but have been on the list for at least six months.  They keep their lowly position not because they unimportant but because they are suppressed by the urgencies and sometimes mundane things of life.

Two days ago I was alerted via my assistant, Maya, that I might be asked to be a fill in puppeteer for my wife’s evangelistic puppet show.  Her plan was to recruit students from Kyiv Christian Academy as puppeteers.  They are required to perform twenty hours of community service each year.  The day of the performance was a day off from school and many families were making the most of this  opportunity to do something together.  After checking earlier in the week with the head nurse at this hospital for 400 children we were advised there would be as many as 150 children parents and staff in attendance.  Too late to back out now even if we did not have any assistants.  The show must go on.  We did have one faithful recruit, Nat, who we have known since we first moved to Ukraine.

We all gathered on the morning of the “Really Big Show” at our flat, two hours before, for our one and only rehearsal.  We could not find a copy of the script after a frantic search and for a moment thought the tape might be erased.  I am still amazed that we were able to pull this adventure off, but then again I was relying upon my own strength and desires.

We certainly were not professional.  But hearing the giggles coming form our audience and their spontaneous clapping with the music encouraged the puppeteers greatly.  Simply, the audience and the team were having fun together sharing God’s love and enjoying His presence together!

After the show two older patients from the audience who assisted in holding our curtain announced they were Christians and were very excited to see us.  We invited them to church and they promised they would come.  Another woman approached me with her son Valdic who has a kidney problem and needs an operation.  She is also a believer and wanted some reassurance that this surgery was really needed.  She was hoping and praying God would heal her son without this procedure.  Somewhat disappointed in God’s response, I asked her to think and pray more about God’s attributes and His purposes than the immediate problem she was facing.  Our God is so much greater than we can imagine.  He does not let anything go to waste even our illnesses.  We prayed.  She cried.  We hugged.

Was I a willing participant yesterday?  Was I looking for God’s purpose and plan for me when the day began?  Somewhat reluctantly, I followed God’s lead and He graciously allowed me to be His instrument to share His love and faithfulness.  What are your plans for today?   

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2008 in Medical Missionary, Service

 

4 responses to “Willingness AND Looking

  1. ukrainiac

    February 9, 2008 at 8:15 am

    It is interesting to me that so often the things that I enter into oh so reluctantly (dragging my feet or even digging in my heels) are the very things that I can so clearly see that God orchestrated! Not that you approached Friday that way, and I am so thankful that you were with us. You do know that the pediatrician-in-attendance does give us a bit more credibility with the staff…

     
  2. Wayne

    February 10, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    As physicians our lives are about and we work because of interruptions (who plans illness or injuries?). As disciples of Christ we are to be open to those divine interruptions as opportunities to be faithful the the Great Commission. What does that mean for us as Christian physicians? I wonder how we are doing…

     
  3. ukrainiac

    February 13, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Wayne: Good question. But not just for physicians — we ALL live lives with divine interruptions (ask ANY mom) that we can choose to see as opportunities or…well, you know…just a pain.

     
  4. Gregoryvr

    March 24, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    omg.. good work, man

     

Leave a comment